A Team composed of Geologists from the Geosciences Division of MGB-IX recently completed the updating of the 1:10,000 scale Rain-Induced Landslide and Flood Susceptibility Map for Tigbao Municipality in  Zamboanga del Sur.

Covering eighteen (18) barangays with one hundred twenty-eight (128) puroks and their respective sitios that were clustered and divided into Northwestern Cluster, Southeastern Cluster, and Southwestern Cluster, this activity aims to appraise the geohazard susceptibility ratings of the former geohazard map produced from the previous assessment.

Three major programs of the Mines and Geosciences Bureau-IX thru the Geosciences Division, commenced this February in line with the national targets of DENR-MGB. These field programs are Geologic Quadrangle Mapping, Updating of 1:10,000 scale Geohazard Map and Vulnerability and Risk Assessment (VRA), and Coastal Geohazard Assessment undertaken in the various provinces of Zamboanga Peninsula. 


The first leg of the Vulnerability Risk Assessment-Information Education and Communication (VRA-IEC) activity have commenced this month of May in selected Municipalities of Zamboanga del Sur.  Geologist Ollyn Rey Balignot and GIS Specialist Glenford Gamelo facilitated the said VRA-IEC activities in the Municipalities of Tabina, Dimataling and Vicenzo Sagun, Zamboanga del Sur.